Trouble using a function pointer

Hello all I'm trying to pass a function pointer to my traverse function by defining a new function called decreaseByOne that will decrease the value of the value in each node in a linked list by one. This is my first time trying to use a function pointer and its giving me some problems.

If I need to post the rest of the code in the program let me know. I know (*visit) is my function pointer and (q->entry) would be the parameter for the function it is pointing to. I'm not sure if (*vist) = decreaseByOne(); is correct or if (T *e) would be right for the decreaseByOne function. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

template<typename T>
void Deque<T>::decreaseByOne(T *e)
{
   e->entry + 1;
}

template<typename T>
void Deque<T>::traverse(void (*visit)(T &))
{
 (*vist) = decreaseByOne();
  Node<T> *q;
  for(q=head;q; q->next)
       (*visit)(q->entry);

}
> and its giving me some problems.
you need to be more specific
- compilation error
- wrong output
- crash
- computer exploded

> void Deque<T>::decreaseByOne(T *e)
¿why is that a member function? you don't seem to use the object at all
remember that a member function may be written equivalent in C as
void decreaseByOne(Deque_T * const this, T *e)
Last edited on
Hey ne555 thanks for the help! I'm getting a bunch of compilation errors. For the decreaseByOne function all it needs to do is have a parameter for (q->entry) and increase it by 1(the value in the node). Is (*vist) = decreaseByOne(); correct? I'm trying to have visit be the function pointer for the decreaseByOne function.

In file included from pa1.cpp:4:0:
Deque.h: In member function âvoid Deque<T>::traverse(void (*)(T&))â:
Deque.h:71:4: error: âvistâ was not declared in this scope
pa1.cpp: In function âint main()â:
pa1.cpp:126:14: error: invalid conversion from âintâ to âvoid (*)(int&)â [-fpermissive]
Deque.h:69:6: error: initializing argument 1 of âvoid Deque<T>::traverse(void (*)(T&)) [with T = int]â [-fpermissive]