Proper way of handling trivial exceptions?

Hi, I've been programming as a hobby for a couple of years. I learned from online courses and documentation and I just came across something I don't even know how to explain, I think maybe that's because I'm doing it wrong...

I'm writing a library to handle a deck of cards, with a class "deck" and a class "card". I have a function which transfers some cards* from a vector (pile) to another one (hand), and when the pile doesn't contain enough cards, I throw an exception, so I can catch it and decide what I do then (depending on the game, it could end or I could shuffle the cards again).
void pass_cards(unsigned int c,std::vector<card*> *to,std::vector<card*> *from) throw(int)
{
  if(from->size()<c)
  {
    throw 1;
  }
  for(unsigned int i=0;i!=c;i++)
  {
    to->push_back(from->back());
    from->pop_back();
  }
  return;
}

And this is how I use it:
    cout<<"Hand:"<<endl;
    try
    {
      hand1.clear();
      pass_cards(5,&hand1,&pile);
    }
    catch(int e)
    {
      err=e;
      if(err==1)
        cout<<"Pile empty"<<endl;

}

It would be simpler return an int instead of throwing it (don't know why I didn't) but I feel like that's not the right way either. How would you do this?
You have a ton of options:

1. return an int value, 1 on success, -1 on failure, -x on specific failure. Typical libraries have a function that you can pass the last error into to get a message back for the user or for yourself. You can make a global enum that has error codes.

2. return a struct that includes a value and a description if there is an error.

3. use a "state" object which you pass into the function that includes information about successes or failures.

4. use an event system (nice for multithreaded programs) that sends a specific message back to the main program with the negative response from the function.