Visual Studio (C): Debug Assertion failed; .exe has triggered a breakpoint

Hello. I am doing an assignment for my Intro to Programming class. Our instructor provided us with the start of this program, and we were assigned to finish it. My code below runs, but when it gets to "printf("Enter L or R for Large or Regular loaf size.");" the program crashes and gives a Runtime Library error that says:"

Debug assertion failed!
Program:[my program]
File: minkernal\crts\ucrt\inc\corecrt_internal_stdio_input.h
Line: 1240
Expression: buffer!= nullptr
"

I am still very new to C and Visual Studio, so I have absolutely no idea what this means.

I'm not asking anyone to do my assignment, I am asking advice and maybe an explanation of this error.

Thanks in advance,
K

ifdef _MSC_VER
#define _CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS
#endif

#include <stdio.h>

int
main(void)
{
	char breadType
	char loafSize
	char cookType
	int bakingTime
	int totalTime

printf("Enter the Type of Bread used\n ");
	scanf(" %c", &breadType);

printf("Bread Type is %c: \n", breadType);

switch (breadType) {
	case 'W':
	case 'w':
		printf("White Bread\n");
		break;
	case 'S':
	case 's':
		printf("Sweet Bread\n");
		break;

default:
		printf("Unknown\n");

}

if (breadType == 'w' || 'W')

{
		printf(" Primary kneading: 15 mins\n");
		printf(" Primary rising: 60 mins\n");
		printf(" Secondary kneading: 18 mins\n");
		printf(" Secondary rising: 20 mins\n");
		printf(" Loaf shaping: 2 seconds\n");
		printf(" Final rising: 75 mins\n");
		printf(" Baking: 45 mins\n");
		printf(" Cooling: 30 mins\n");

}

else
	{
		printf(" Primary kneading: 20 mins\n");
		printf(" Primary rising: 60 mins\n");
		printf(" Secondary kneading: 33 mins\n");
		printf(" Secondary rising: 30 mins\n");
		printf(" Loaf shaping: 2 seconds\n");
		printf(" Final rising: 75 mins\n");
		printf(" Baking: 35 mins\n");
		printf(" Cooling: 30 mins\n");

}

printf("Enter L or R for Large or Regular loaf size.");
	scanf(" %c", &loafSize);

if (loafSize == 'L')