Learn C++ better or Learn Java

Hello,

First I should say a little about myself. I’ve been programming in Python, PHP, C# and Objective C for iOS apps for a few years now and recently I started learning C++ .

Also due to family issues, I had to quit my job and move after 6 years and I’m currently looking for a new Programming gig.

It seems that everywhere I look people are mostly looking for Java or C++ people.

I learned the basics of C++ and the basics of Java. (More so C++). To be honest with Java… I got board. It was like I double click to open eclipse and …………waiting…………waiting………… Yay I can start coding finally. Wait I’m too tired now from waiting.

okay maybe its not that bad. but with a newer Macbook Pro Retina it shouldn’t take that long to start a basic IDE. I’ve tried Idea too.

but when it comes to c++ using Xcode or Visual Studio. I love it! I know people may think I’m crazy for that but I really do! However I really do need to learn about data structures and get lots of practice. So I’m still at the beginning stages. plus the first package I tried to work with I had a hard time with. (libcurl) I did get it to work but did have to resort to looking at documentation.

After doing some research I did read that if you use Java in interview testing you don’t have to worry about memory management. I still have to learn about that too. Its it a big deal to learn? Or just clearing memory when closing the program?

The only real reason that I’m looking at Java is because a few people have told me its better for the extra libraries and tools and for data structures. Also there is that interview testing thing with memory management.

Right now I’m still working with C++ and practicing and learning 10+ hours a day and loving it.

but is it work learning java? or just become better in C++?

I’m leaning towards c++ and so far everything is coming natural to me. (other then libcurl).

Thank You
Last edited on