Need Help for a pick game

Hey, guys. I am a beginner for C++ programming. I need to program a pick up game, which I need to drop anywhere from 1 to 10 cookies. And I also need get a random number from 1 to 10 for how many cookies you will put in the grid, then loop for as many cookies you are going to put into the grid, getting a random height and random width for the location to put that cookie into the grid. Before putting the cookie in the grid, I need check to see if there is already a cookie there or if the user’s cursor is in that spot. If that spot is already a cookie or the user’s cursor then you MUST get another random height and width and try to put the cookie there.
I printed out the grid and user's cursor. But now I have a problem with putting these cookies into the grid. I have no idea how to check the spot if it is already occupied.
this is the code that I write for putting cookies into the grid:
class Coins : public PickUpGame // inheritate from the the class PickUpgame
{
protected:
	int coins; // variable coins
	int point1; // variable for return coins
	int height;
	int width;
	char PutCoins[20][40];
public:
    void NumOfCoins() // function for get random number of coins
	{
		coins = rand() % 10 + 1;// get random number of coins from 1 to 10
	}
	void returncoins()// function for return value for coins
	{
		point1 = coins;// give value of variable to point1 for coins
	}
	int getcoins()// return the value for main function for the number of coins
	{
		return point1;// return the value for the coins
	}
	void Put()
	{	
		for (int i = 0; i <= coins; i++)
		{
		  height = rand() % MAX_HEIGHT; // random number for height between 0 to MAX_HEIGHT
		  width = rand() % MAX_WIDTH; // random number for with between 0 to MAX_WIDTH
		  PutCoins[height][width] = ' ';
		}
     }
	void printcoins()
	{
		for (int i = 0; i <= coins; i++)
		{
			height = rand() % MAX_HEIGHT; // random number for height between 0 to MAX_HEIGHT