Project ideas

Hello everyone.

I currently work in the systems administration field (Cisco/Linux) stuff like that. But it is really time for me to become a Jr. programmer as I don't like what I do. I got a degree in Computer Science, but that did not go so great, so I ended up as a Sys Admin.

Anyway, I know this is a C++ forum, but this is a very general question. My dream is to become a C++ programmer, but it is just to hard, I am trying to run before I can walk. But I know C#.NET, that is what my school taught. And I am determined to finally get a job as a C#.NET programmer.

I have one project in the works, a subnet calculator that will also will include some cool features, that most subnet calculators out there do not offer, like summary addresses. And I think that will impress employers in my software portfolio (I hope).

But I would like to have at least three completed software projects before I go out and seek my new career.

So, I was wondering what do you think some good software project might be, that would look good in front of employers? I know this question is really open ended, so I will give some ideas I had, in order to give the scope of the projects I am trying to consider.

One was an elevator simulator, the other was maybe a soda vending machine. Stuff like that. I kind of want to stay away from things like a point of sale systems, as you need to think about the business model in order to code that. I just want to demonstrate my coding abilities and show I can solve problems in code.

So, whatever projects I choose it will take a lot of time and effort. So I thought I might reach out to the community to see what kind of projects you might do for your employment software portfolio. I am using Visual Studio .NET so I can make graphical applications, nothing crazy but the basics.