Can't display average value, returns "nan(ind)" or "0"

Hi guys, I apologize in advance if this problem is an elementary one. I am n00b in programming and I started learning C++ today. Never programmed anything before.

The program is supposed to ask for several numbers from the user. There is no limit of how many numbers the user can input. So the user inputs random numbers and presses a letter and hits ENTER. Program stores all values, does the sum of all variables and also counts the number of variables entered. Finally, it prints on the standard output the average. The annoying part here is that I can't get the average to be displayed correctly. Sometimes it returns me a "0" or a "-nan(ind)" value that I don't even know what that is. I wish I could see a decimal average there... So, can anyone help me out?

#include <iostream>
int main()
{
        int sum = 0, value = 0;
	/* Program will read input values as long as those
	 * values are numbers and print the sum in the end. */
	std::cout << "Please input several numbers you want to add together." << std::endl;
	std::cout << "When done, press any letter and hit ENTER." << std::endl;
	while (std::cin >> value)// The condition holds the value of several input numbers.
		sum += value;	 //Equivalent of writting "sum = sum + value".
	std::cout << "The sum of all those numbers is: " << sum << std::endl;
	system("pause");

int input, sum2 = 0, counter = 1;
     float average;
     std::cout << "Please input several numbers to find their average. " << std::endl;
     std::cout << "When done, press any letter and hit ENTER." << std::endl;
     while (std::cin >> input)
          sum2 += input, ++counter;
     average = (float)sum2 / (float)counter;
     std::cout << "The average of those numbers is: " << average << std::endl;
     /* I KEEP GETTING "0" or "-nan(ind)" instead of the average here.
      * Program appears to not wait for my inputs and runs straight