Is my code clean and concise?

I'm teaching myself, slowly, and came upon a problem in my book. It's "Jumping into C++" Chapter 16 (Recursions), problem one.

1. Write a recursive algorithm to compute the power function pow(x, y) = x^y

I have my code, and it works. So I'm just wondering if there is anyway to clean it up. I'm going for the barest minimum, no frill. Program takes 2 numbers, and raises the first number by the second.

I'm a high school math teacher and like to show my students my coding on mathematical problems to help them understand certain things. I need the code to be as clean as possible.

I know it's not messy, per-say, (thank you AStyle format) just wondering if there is any extraneous code in there I could remove while still keeping to the heart of the question, (using a recursive algorithm, instead of an iterative loop or something.)

/**       Dallas Wilke
 *        October 31, 2016
 *        Jumping in to C++
 *        Chapter 16 - Problem One
 *   Write a recursive algorithm to compute the power function: pow( x,y ) = x^y
 */

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int pow(int x, int y)
{
    if ( y == 1 )
    {
        return x;
    }
    return x * pow(x, y-1);
}
int main()
{
    int input1;
    int input2;
    cin >> input1 >> input2;
    cout << pow(input1, input2);
}
Last edited on
That's about as concise as you can get.

If you want to write it a little more tersely, there is this using the ternary operator:
int pow (int x, int y)
{  return (y==1) ? x : x * pow(x,y-1);
}

Your code is not quite correct - your base-case isn't actually the base. (See below.)

Other then that -- assuming you make sure all the preconditions are enforced, it seems essentially fine.

Some notes on the definition of ::pow:
- since this is functional-style code it can be made constexpr with no pain (assuming C++14 or later).
- x and y can (should) be marked locally constant.