See the output on the screen after debugging

Hi everyone,

I am very new to C++, I am working on a cryptography project. After building the solution on visual studio, when i debug it, a black window (like command prompt) comes for few seconds and disappears.
As I interpreted that is the place where I have to input a number there, using srand a random number is generator.

I want to increase the time of that window so that I can enter the input and see the random generator generated. This question might be silly but I want to know why that screen disappears so quickly.
/* srand example */
#include <stdio.h> /* printf, NULL */
#include <stdlib.h> /* srand, rand */
#include <time.h> /* time */

int main ()
{
printf ("First number: %d\n", rand()%100);
srand (time(NULL));
printf ("Random number: %d\n", rand()%100);
srand (1);
printf ("Again the first number: %d\n", rand()%100);

return 0;
}

Waiting for any help......
Thank you
This actually is very common. Because Visual Studio doesn't compile in a Pause function, you will have to break your code manually:

printf ("Again the first number: %d\n", rand()%100);

system("PAUSE");

return 0;
}

The "system" function passes the argument "PAUSE" to the command prompt.
This will make your code stop execution before the return statement, and as such the prompt will stay open :)
This solved my problem, thank you so much :)
I want to know why that screen disappears so quickly.

The reason is because console apps are intended to run interactively in a Command Prompt. While adding code to pause your app when running from Visual Studio might help when testing, it will be a bit irritating when run from the command line.

Andy

PS you might want to check out the pinned thread at the top of the Beginner's forum, on this very topic: Console Closing Down
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/1988/
Inc. why system() is evil !!
As andy just stated,