while loop does not end

Hi. Why does my while loop never end? Even if I enter 0 , it still lets me enter. The program should end, when I at least type one time 0 (either in "food", or "people").
 #include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <cmath>

using namespace std;
   int main ()
{
    int food, people, days=0 ;
   while ((food!=0) || (people!=0))
   {
       cin>>food>>people;
days++;
   }
cout<<days;
return 0;
}
Last edited on
The loop will stop if you enter 0 for both food and people.

You need to initialize food and people before the loop (or use a do-while loop) to prevent that they are used before being initialized.
Thanks. I don't really understand how to initialize ? Can you please show me? Sorry, i am new to programing and don't have any examples. Searched the web, but could not find an easy to understand example.
Last edited on
Initialization just means you give a variable a starting value (like you do with days).

If you don't do this your program might not work properly. When I tested your program it never even entered the loop because of this.
Maybe i should use " while ((food>0) || (people>0)) " ?
Hello snekus001,

Try initializing your variables before you use them. As your program is written "food" and "people" have unknown values and no guarantee that the while condition will work. When I tried compiling your original code I received errors for uninitialized variables.

You could also try: while ((food!=0) && (people!=0)). I have seen times where "&&" has to be used with two "!=" to work correctly.

Remember both "food" and "people" have to be zero for the while loop to fail. And the way the while is written "days" will likely be one more than you want.

Hope that helps,

Andy
First, none of the variables are initialised. When reaching line 9 for the first time, what will happen - will the loop execute or will it end? There's no way to tell, since the contents of the variables are unknown (garbage).