how would this be done?

Hello, I am new to C++, basically I am trying to make a program that while you are holding spacebar a number decrements, once your health is equal to 0 I want to prompt the user saying they are dead and if they would like to restart enter y and if they would like to exit type n. I tried to do this with a while loop but I don't know what I should use to make it properly.. In my head I'm thinking there should be a class or thread or whatever you call it, basically there needs to be something like this
fullHealth
{
while(1)
	{
           if (GetAsyncKeyState(VK_SPACE))
		{
	          health--;
		  cout << health << endl;
		}
	}
}

Then what I want to do in the main is call the fullHealth function or whatever it would be called, and once health is <= 0 I would like to output the restart question, saying something like "You are dead, would you like me to set your health back to 100? y/n".. If the users input is equal to y I want to jump back to the fullHealth function, if it is equal to n I just want to break the loop and exit the program.. I hope you understand what I am saying and if I am approaching this wrong please let me know, I don't have much coding experience and I don't have the mentality of a "coder" yet. Thanks for the help everyone.
Last edited on
@moop

Here it is, just in main(). It shouldn't be that difficult to use it in a function, instead.

#include <iostream>
#include <conio.h>

using namespace std;

#define SPACE 32 // ASCII for spacebar

int main()
{
	int ch;
	int health = 100;
	char Y_N;
	do
	{
		do
		{
			cout << health << "\b\b\b";
			ch = _getch();
			if(ch == SPACE)
			{
				health--;
				cout << health << " \b\b\b\b"; // To put cursor back 4 spaces.
                                                               // Now overwrites previous output
			}
		}while(health >= 0);
		cout << "You are dead. Would you like me to set your health back to 100? [Y or N] ";
		do
		{
			cin >> Y_N;
			Y_N = toupper(Y_N);