(Beginner) string variables not equaling in if statement

I'm new to learning C++ and following a book.
I can't seem to figure out why I keep receiving the cout from the else statement instead of from the if statement.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    string my_pass;
    string entered_pass;

cout << "Please choose a password for yourself: ";
    cin >> my_pass;
    getline(cin, my_pass, '\n');
    cout << "Okay, now please verify that password: ";
    getline(cin, entered_pass, '\n');

if (my_pass == entered_pass)
    {
        cout << "Great, password verified!";
    }
    else
    {
        cout << "Ahh can't be helped. I don't know how to let you enter another password...";
    }
}

When I change if (my_pass == entered_pass) to if (my_pass == "xyzzy"), and I enter "xyzzy" for my_pass, I still receive the cout from the else statement.

I've tried to look around on this forum and googled places, but either I haven't found it, or I don't understand what I'm reading.
Did you try to print out the "password" after you try to retrieve the information?

Why are you trying to have the use enter the password three times?

cout << "Please choose a password for yourself: ";
    cin >> my_pass;   ///////// 1
    getline(cin, my_pass, '\n'); ///////// 2
    cout << "Okay, now please verify that password: ";
    getline(cin, entered_pass, '\n');  /////// 3 

By the way switching between the extraction operator>> and getline() is problematic because the extraction operator leaves the new line character in the input stream which causes getline() to terminate it's entry.

In this case, presumably the password doesn't contain spaces?
If that's the case, then use

cin >> my_pass;

instead of

getline(cin, my_pass, '\n');

Well - your code has both, and that's the cause of the problem. Stick to one or the other and it should work.