ERROR 453 -Can't find Entry Point in C++ dll (x64 bit)

Using Visual Studio 2017 community on Windows 10- 64 bits.

I am a C++ beginner and I have written a small C++ 64 bit dll so I can use it in (excel 2010 64bit)VBA .. This dll simply exports a very simple function "square" as described in this short video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7aDAyf72S7o

I followed the steps correctly and the C++ project compiled corectly.

cpp file
  double _stdcall square (double & x)
{

return x*x;
}

Def file :
LIBRARY squareDll
EXPORTS square

Problem:
When I call this from excel vba as shown below, I get Run time Error 453 "Can't find DLL Entry Point ...

This is my VBA code in Excel:

Declare PtrSafe Function Square Lib "C:\Users\Info-Hp\documents\visual studio 2017\Projects\square\x64\Debug\squareDll.dll" _ (ByRef x As Double) As Double

Sub Test()
MsgBox Square(2)
End Sub

When I open this squareDll C++ dll in Dependency Walker, it shows a red module that says : "Could not find the section that owns the Import Directory"

Can anybody tell me what the problem is?

Thank you.
Last edited on
Thank you Thomas1965.

I'll take a look at the suggested link and post back later .
Hi, I am back again.

I took a long look at the link and the info is quite complicated for me as a beginner

I followed the suggestions made by the user Malick and this is what I did :

1- Removed the Def file from my project.
2- In the cpp file, I edited my code as follows :
#define EXPORT comment(linker, "/EXPORT:" __FUNCTION__ "=" __FUNCDNAME__)

double _stdcall square(double & x)
{
	#pragma EXPORT
	return x*x;

}

The project compiled correctly!

However, when calling the 'Square' function from my excel VBA, I still get the same 453 error.

Did I write the EXPORT MACRO shown at the top properly ? Do I have to leave the 'linker' word literally as well as the EXPORT word as they are or do I need to replace them with the actual linker and export names ?

Please can anybody help me ?

Thank you.