Trouble understanding book example (functions)

Hello all, I am having a hard time understanding this particular program presented in my book. I tried my best to write it out but I don't understand the logic. I am new to functions and we just basically started function this week, thank you.

My logic:

- Ask the user to enter any INTEGER value.
- if (isEven(val)) display is even otherwise display odd.

I would assume let's say the user enters 5. So now in the statement if (isEven(5)) function starts. Then we jump to the function. 5 % 2 == 1, so it skips the status = "true" and immediately goes to status = false". Then it returns status to the main. Because it returns status, and because I entered 5, it returns the "status = false" back to the main function, and makes it immediately go to the else displaying it's odd?

This is what I am having trouble with mainly. My original thinking is this, if the user enters 6, for example, that means 6 % 2 == 0 which is true, so immediately the function stays the "stats = true". So, when returning the status to the main function, that means isEven(val) is true so it display it's even?

Thanks so much. Sorry for the additional comments in the program, those are there for memory.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

bool isEven(int);

int main()
{
	int val;

cout << "Enter an integer and I will tell you if it is even or odd: ";
	cin >> val;

if (isEven(val)) // Remember, connected to function paramter to "isEven".
		cout << val << " is even.\n";
	else
		cout << val << " is odd.\n";
}

bool isEven(int number) // Connected.
{
	bool status;

if (number % 2 == 0) // Val conneted.
		status = true;
	else
		status = false;
	return status;
}
Last edited on