sum of alternating series with an error limit

Hi I am new to C++ and have an assignment asking me to write a program to approximate the sum of a given alternating series so that the error in the sum is smaller than a given tolerance. The program should request the user to enter a non-negative error tolerance, and then add terms in order until the error between the sum of the series and the partial sum is less than the
tolerance. You can use the error bound from the alternating series test to determine when to stop adding terms. Report the sum of the series and the number of terms computed to the user.

The alternating series is: the sum from k=0 to infinity of [(-1)^k]/(3k+1)

The advice I have gotten is to declare two variables, "curr_sum" and "past_sum". In every iteration, you add a term on "curr_sum", and check the difference between "curr_sum" and "past_sum". If the difference is less than the tolerance, you stop the iteration, and "curr_sum" is your approximation. If the difference is still too big, set "past_sum = curr_sum" and continue the loop until the difference is very very small (less than the tolerance). It is from the idea of convergent infinite series in Calculus. However, I am still very confused how to execute all of that after declaring variables.

Thanks!
keskiverto wrote:
Please note that this is not a homework site. We won't do your homework for you. The purpose of homework is that you learn by doing. However we are always willing to help solve problems you encountered, correct mistakes you made in your code and answer your questions.

We didn't see your attempts to solve this problem yourself and so we cannot correct mistakes you didn't made and answer questions you didn't ask. To get help you should do something yourself and get real problems with something. If your problem is "I don't understand a thing", then you should go back to basics and study again.

What part are you confused about? Break the problem down into simpler parts.