substitution Cipher

Hi everyone, I am a complete novice to C coding and Programming. I have the task below and I have absolutely no idea where to start.
I am quite limited for time and I am totally stuck.
I can’t begin to explain how difficult I find this; books etc. just make matters worse not better.
If there is anyone out there who would be willing to either guide me through this, or at least point me in the right direction, I would be extremely grateful.
I need to create a program that encrypts plain text via a substitution cipher
The string to be used as the cipher key has to be between two to sixteen characters and contain only letters a through to z with no duplicates
The string used for the encryption (the plain text) has to be between four and two hundred and fifty-six characters and contain only letters a through to z in lower case plus spaces
X = the current position within the cipher key. X = 1 is the start point.

The method to encrypt will require these steps
01: Character at point X in the cipher key is the target value
02: Character at point X+1 in the cipher key = substitution value
03: If X is the last character in the cipher key, substitute value is the first character of the cipher key
04: All instances of the target value should be replaced with the substitution value, in the plain text
05: X should be increased by one and the process should be repeated until at the end of the cipher key
The following input has to be read by the program
Line ONE of the input = numeric digit or digits the gives the length of the cipher key
Line TWO of the input = cipher key text
Line THREE of the input = numeric digit or digits that give the length of the plain text
LINE FOUR of the input = the plain text that is to be encrypted
The Code / Program has to output the following information
The Step Number, example = if the cipher key is 3 then the output has to show steps one, two and three of the substitution
Both Target and Substitution values for each step