Filling array with words from text file and finding similar ones and sorting them out

Hello everyone,

First of all sorry for my poor English skills and I'm new to C++ too so don't judge me too much and I would appreciate if someone could try to help me. Basically I have a .txt file and I need to fill an array with the words from the file. Once I do that I need to find the words which start and end with same letter and sort them all out. I know how to sort it out, but I need help with the other two mentioned earlier. So what I've managed to do so far is to print out the content of a file word by word assuming that they're places in an array (in my case word[n]) array. But as soon as try to write let's say cout << word[somenumber]; it doesn't give me anything and same if I try with "for" loop, where could the problem be? Because it prints out everything fine at first in the "for" loop. Maybe there is a smarter and more elegant way to do this?

Thank You for your time.

i = 0;
    string word[MAX];
    vector<string> Words;
			ifstream fv;
			fv.open("data.txt");
			if(fv.fail()) cout<<"File can not be found";
			else{
                    for(i=0;i<500;i++)
                    {

while(fv >> word[i])
  {
    cout << word[i] << endl; // <--- This does work!
    Words.push_back(word[i]);
  }
                    }
}
for(i=0;i<500;i++)
{
    cout << word[i] ; // <--- This doesn't work!
}

}
Hello Mykel,

Not seeing the rest of the code some of the variables are out of context. Also the text file or a portion of it would be helpful. At least we would all be using the same information.

Just looking at the code I would consider removing the first for loop and letting the while loop control the input. As it is when the while loop has nothing left to read the for loop will continue using whatever was in the last read.

In the second for loop did you want to pront the array of strings or the vector of strings?

Personally I would stay with the vector.