Using the flood fill algorithm in a multidimensional maze.

I am very new to C++, and I recently made a maze generator by using 2D arrays. However, I need to create a "mouse" of sorts to travel through the maze. It should start at the starting cell and finish once it reaches the end cell. It needs to run through the maze and should be represented by an asterisk.

I really don't know how to code this, I learned about the flood fill algorithm and think it could work, but I don't know how to code it.

If anyone would look at my code and help me determine how to program this I would really appreciate it. Sorry if this is the wrong place, I just started C++ a little under two weeks ago.

The code is a bit long so I'll link to it:

https://pastebin.com/0aC2vGkR
can't access external links.

I almost always recommend a 1-d solution (you can treat 1d as any dimension). Then you can flood fill it with a simple loop.

but that aside...

for(i = 0; i < rows; i++)
for(j = 0; j < cols; j++)
thing[i][j] = fillvalue;

if you insist on 2-d, you can collapse the inner loop in some cases:
for(i = 0; i < rows; i++)
memset( &thing[i][0], value, cols*sizeof(type));

but that only works if you are filling zeros or single bytes.

if its 1-d the memset will do the whole thing if it applies.

most likely, you should stick to the first version for now, memset is not a good plan for a beginner.

Memset is sort of a flood-fill approach. The loop isnt technically a flood fill. Not 100% sure what you need here... ?
Last edited on
jonnin wrote:
Memset is sort of a flood-fill approach.

Only if everyone drowns.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flood_fill
I see. Sorry about that, I was not thinking about image algorithms :)