Bool function for Prime Numbers

I am learning functions now, and have a task to write a function that will determine if a number is prime. There is a second function that determines the range of numbers.
I have it working...sort of. I get the prime numbers, however there are some additional numbers that I cannot figure out how to get rid of.

I dont know if the problem if a math error or a logic error. The logic looks right to me, but as I said, I am just learning.

The numbers I get with a range of 3-33 are:
5 7 9 11 13 15 17 19 21 23 25 27 29 31 33

As you can see, 9, 15, 25, 27, and 33 are NOT prime numbers.

Help please.

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>

using namespace std;

// FUNCTION PROTOTYPE FOR read_range
void read_range(int& imin, int& imax);

// FUNCTION PROTOTYPE FOR is_prime
bool is_prime(int k);

// DO NOT MODIFY THE MAIN ROUTINE IN ANY WAY
int main()
{
  int imin(0), imax(0);

// Read in range
  read_range(imin, imax);

// Print prime numbers
  cout << "Primes:";
  for (int j = imin; j <= imax; j++) {
    if (is_prime(j)) 
      { 
        cout << "  " << j; 
      }
  }
  cout << endl;

return 0;
}

// DEFINE FUNCTION read_range() HERE:
void read_range(int& imin, int& imax){
  int x(0), y(0); //Initialize variables
  cout << "Enter minimum and maximum:";
  cin >> x >> y ;
  if(x < 2 || y < imin){
      cout << "Error, enter min > 2, and max > min";
      cin >> x >> y ;
  }
  imin = x;
  imax = y;

}

// DEFINE FUNCTION is_prime() HERE:
bool is_prime(int k){
  for(int i = 2; i <= (k/2) ; i++){
  if((k % i) != 0) 
    return true;
  else
    return false;    
  }
return(0);
}

scrambled logic. try this:
bool is_prime(int k)
{
  for(int i = 2; i <= sqrt(k); i++) //sqrt is sufficient, /2 is too many iterations
  {
   if((k % i) == 0)  //if it divides evenly by any value
    return false;       //we are done, its not prime
  }
 return true;  //and outside the loop, if nothing divided it by now, its prime. 
}