Using c++ to call TASM to assemble .asm into .com

Hi,
I am new to c++, could anyone point me to how can I write a c++ code which will call TASM to assemble the .asm file into a .com and execute it?

I've written a c++ code that compiles into .asm file but could not see any online resouce on how to invoke TASM to assemble the generated .asm file.

Thanks!
I am not sure what you are asking, so I will answer a couple of possible questions this could be.

-- if your c++ compiler is set to generate assembly, that is just for YOU to look at. Many programmers look at this to see if the generated assembly is doing something poor and will rewrite to get speed by checking the output if they see an issue. You do not generally assemble these files. Instead, you should compile the c++ to an executable program directly.

-- if you are writing assembly with your code as part of what your code DOES, you can invoke the assembler yourself. The system() command is a crude way, and there are advanced versions with spawn family, windows has its own family, shellexecute family, and so on. The simply run the program for you from your own program.

-- if you are trying to assemble the output of the compiler yourself as an assembly program, it should work like one you wrote yourself, but it may need to tap libraries that you need to provide a path for. This is not something I have had to do since school when they walked us through the process, and a LOT has changed since then... you may need to google up a set of instructions.
Last edited on
Why do you need a .COM file? What are you trying to do?
okay, so intuitively, I'll just have to code it in the same way as I would have executed TASM in the command prompt? That also means I will have to invoke "cd.." first, to locate where tasm.exe is? I'll let you guys know of the result once I get hold of my machine..
Can I buy a vowel?
Last edited on