Need help finding the sum of user input values

Write your question here.
The program I am needing to write is one that prompts the user for 4 random integers, assuming that the user will not throw in decimals or other uncommon punctuation. Add the 4 integers together and produce a sum for the user. I've spend a couple hours watching videos and browsing the forums but didn't have any success finding what I needed. Any help would be extremely appreciated! I'm a freshman at college and this is my very first Computer science class I'm sorry if I made any stupid mistakes.
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
	string alpha;

cout << "Enter four integers (separated by white space): ";
	cin >> alpha;

return 0;
}
Last edited on
Your on the right track with one error that I see so far.
Yes you can enter the numbers as a string, but keep in mind a string is like text.
You can not easily add text, so you would be better off to change line 8 to a INT.
If you want decimals then use a DOUBLE.
Next you should enter the numbers one at a time if that is possible and add the total as you go.
Since you need 4 numbers, you'll need a simple loop.

I took what I understood out of your message and continued scouring the internet and researching I came up with this. I had the upmost confidence when I ran it, but unfortunately instead of it producing the sum of those 4 integers it just closed. Any advice?!?! Anything and everything is very much appreciated.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
	int firstNumber, secondNumber, thirdNumber, fourthNumber, sumOfFourNumbers;

cout << "Enter four integers: ";
	cin >> firstNumber >> secondNumber >> thirdNumber >> fourthNumber;

sumOfFourNumbers = firstNumber + secondNumber + thirdNumber + fourthNumber;

cout << firstNumber << " + " << secondNumber << "+ " << thirdNumber << " + " << fourthNumber << " = " << sumOfFourNumbers;

return 0;
}

Last edited on
Your code runs fine: