Hashing

Hello guys.I started practicing hashing and i am interested did anyone had contact with this kind of functions and how much are they effective.This are functions that i have learned on university.
This is for double and float

unsigned int HashCode(double d)
if (d==0)
return 0U;
else
{
int exponent;
double mantissa=frexp(d,&exponent);
return(unsigned int)(2*fabs(mantissa)-1)*~0U;

For string
  unsigned int HashCode(char * s)
{
unsigned int res=0;
unsigned int a=7;
for(int i=0;s[i]!=0;i++)
res=res<<a^s[i];
return res;
}

EDIT:my bad a=7
Last edited on
I'm not sure about the first one. For the second, since a==0 throughout the function, res<<a[i] is the same as res

Some general thoughts on hashing:
- a hash table is almost always faster than a search tree such as std::set<>.
- Often you have an idea how how many items will go into the table so you can set the number of buckets accordingly.
- For now particular reason, I usually aim for bucketCount == itemCount/4. So an average of 4 items per bucket.

Hash tables can be WORSE than a tree when the comparison/hash key is large. For example, if it's a 1kb string then you have to scan the entire string to compute the hash value but you might only have to compare a few bytes to tell which one is larger. In that case the short comparisons in the tree outweight the increased number of items that you must look at.

Another caveat: unordered_map can use a lot of RAM.
string one looks to be too expensive.
personally I am a huge fan of *extract an integer from the data with a simple computation* and then use that integer to re-seed a <random> generator that gives an index in the range of your table. when I say simple computation, for some strings that is as cheap as (int*)(&stringvar[someindexwheredataisnotallthesame]). Not all strings work that easily ... know your data etc..