Need assistance regarding accessing the private function

Hi,

I need to ask about accessing the private function, which I am unable to do after multiple attempts. I am new to C++ programming. Your assistance would be of great help. Thanks

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class newclass
{
public:

int jama (int a, int b)
    {
        int z = a + b;
        return z;
    }

int zarab (int a, int b)
    {
        int x = a * b;
        return x;
    }

int hasily()
    {
        int y;
        return y;
    }

private:

int taqsim (int a, int b) //Unable to get value from this function.
    {
        int y = a / b;
        return y;
    }
};

int main ()
{
    int a = 0;
    int b = 0;
    int c = 0;
    int k = 0;

cout << "Enter a number: ";
    cin >> a;
    cout << "Enter another number: ";
    cin >> b;

newclass nc;
    int x = nc.jama(a,b);
    cout << x << endl;

cout << "Enter a number: ";
    cin >> c;

newclass nz;
    int j = nz.zarab(c,x);
    cout << j;

cout << "Enter dividend: ";
    cin >> k;

newclass nd;
    cout << nd.taqsim(j,k);

return 0;

}
Last edited on
private:    // <==== LOOK

int taqsim (int a, int b)
Private function can only be access from function of the same class. That's the point of private:. If you want to access a function form another outside of the class (like main()) make it public.

You may take a look here:

https://www.tutorialspoint.com/cplusplus/cpp_class_access_modifiers.htm
Last edited on
@zarrar,
Could you explain why exactly you want to make this function private? (i.e. inaccessible from outside the class). Also, why have you put these functions inside a class anyway? This isn't java. Your class has no data members and nothing to change the state of. There is certainly no purpose to creating multiple newclass objects.

I can't quite work out your line of thinking. Have you programmed in some different language before and are trying to replicate it in C++?