Begginers Questions

I've been trying to learn C++ and I can't seem to understand a lot of it. I mean I can write the code when I'm using a book to learn but I don't know how to practice very well. I'm not sure how i should approach it. I'm having problems knowing how to use certain things. For example, I've just read about enumerations and such, but I don't know how i'd practice it without copying what is in the book, or the Char type, I know how to give a value like, char x = 'x';. but i don't know how it would be used. What I guess i'm trying to say is that I'm a beginner that would really like some help know how to practice and how to understand things better. Thanks.
Think up an idea of a program to write, then write it, applying as much of what you learned as possible.
Ok, i'll give it a try. i'm not sure how to make a program out of somethings like Variables, enums, and constants.
Write a program that asks the user to enter two floating point numbers, then outputs their sum.
Declare a constant for PI equal to 3.14159. If the user enters the letter 'p' instead
of a number, use the the value of PI.

Read the input as a string using getline. First check if the string is length 1 and the first character
is a 'p'. If it isn't, then use the function atof() to convert the string to a double.

To do that, you'll need to use variables and constants.
Oh, Ok. Thanks for the help and ideas man. Your really Helpful. Thanks again.
when i get programming books, they usually are broken into chapters i read the first couple of chapters which go over basic syntax, maths and variables. then i start making small programs and playing with the syntax and slowly getting to know more and more. one of my first c++ projects was a calculator that ran in a console. very easy and extensible there are loads of things you can make.