Input file stream: "Incomplete type is not allowed"

Alright support personnel,

Going through my file streams and I am intending to open a file for reading integers as the exercise details..... well I'm using the book's example and I get an error saying that "Incomplete type is not allowed." The lines of code are simple and are as follows: (I'm using VisStudio 2015 as the environment...)

std::cout << "Please enter your input file name==> ";
  std::string input_file;
  std::cin >> input_file;
  std::ifstream ifs{input_file};  //it is THIS line that is generating the error
  if (!ifs) error("can't open input file!");

So I am just learning streams again and I realize this does NOT use explicit "open" or "close" commands because the good Dr. says you shouldn't have to use explicit commands (not all the time at least!) and implicitly opening a file will allow the scope of the program block to close the file when finished - he says implicit opening is easier for "housekeeping" due to not having to keep track of what is open and what is closed.

With that said, anyone have a clue as to why VS 2015 is throwing a fit? I'm taking this right out of his book so I'm at a loss as to why this is choking....

Also, in VS 2015 the file I'm going to open: "input_file"..... will it ask me for a path to this file or do I have to put this in the "resource" folder to begin with or some other location inside the project?

Xanadu
You're missing <fstream>. :-)

And it's not that you shouldn't use explicit open and close commands. It's the more basic principle of initializing variables at the point of their definition whenever possible. And why break it into two statements?