{
    int currVal = 0, val = 0;
    if (std::cin >> currVal) {
        int cnt = 1;
        while (std::cin >> val) {
            if (val == currVal) 
                ++cnt;
            else {
                std::cout << currVal << "occurs" << cnt << "times" << std::endl;
                currVal = val;
                cnt = 1;
            }
        }
    }
    return 0;
}

I am a beginner of C++.
Why when you have 2 cin, you don't have to enter the values twice?
In my head, we have to type a series of numbers for line 5, then another series of numbers for line 7, and we only type the series of numbers once in practice, how is that possible?
Line 5 is an if, so you only get one chance to enter one number.

Line 7 is a while, so you can enter as many numbers as you want.
Except that in practice, for example after writing the numbers 1 2 3 3 4 5 then entering: https://www.noelshack.com/2019-28-1-1562578196-screenshot-from-2019-07-08-11-29-00.png

Then Ctrl+D : https://www.noelshack.com/2019-28-1-1562578250-screenshot-from-2019-07-08-11-29-22.png

It seems I enter numbers for the if, but no one for the while because I need to enter a series of number
Last edited on
1 2 3 3 4 5

In the screenshot you did type:
1 2 3 4 5

If the while indeed does nothing, then what do you get from:
#include <iostream>
int main() 
{
    int currVal = 0, val = 0;
    if (std::cin >> currVal) {
        int cnt = 1;
    }
    return 0;
}

That should show that the "if" reads exactly one integer (if possible).

Almost same as your program:
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    bool first = true;
    int currVal = 0;
    int val = 0;
    int cnt = 0;
    while ( std::cin >> val ) {
        if ( first ) {
            currVal = val;
            cnt = 1;
            first = false
        }
        else if ( val == currVal) {
            ++cnt;
        }
        else {
            std::cout << currVal << " occurs " << cnt << " times\n";
            currVal = val;
            cnt = 1;
        }