Using ESBTL and PDB files

So, I'd just like to preface my post by saying that I'm a biological scientist, and I have very little experience in programming (I've done some writing in Matlab and C++, but that's about it).

Basically, I need to use the ESBTL (Easy Structural Biology Template Library), and input some PDB files containing protein structure details into the library.

Firstly, I'm using a Mac. From my own understanding, I believe I have to create a directory for the ESBTL, so that when I'm actually writing in C++ the ESBTL can then be located when I enter it in the pre-processer command section. I don't know if this is correct, so any info would be appreciated!

Secondly, once the ESBTL has been called in the actual text-editor/compiler, how is each individual PDB file then called in order to input the file to the ESBTL? Do I need to create a directory for the files also?

Once again, I'm very new to this sort of stuff, so any information or help would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited on
Did you go through the "getting started" section?
http://esbtl.sourceforge.net/
Last edited on
I have, but I don't understand where (or what) CPLUS_INCLUDE_DIR is?
@JdittoJ,

Glad to meet you online. I take a particular interest in your post. I've been a consultant for decades to a number of professionals in your exact position, though more often in physics, robotics, AI and other engineering disciplines. My own expertise is primarily software engineering, specifically focused on C++.

The CPLUS_INCLUDE_DIR is an environment variable, a list of variables stored by the operating system as a way to store string information like directory paths, but can store other configuration information. The instruction step from esbtl is merely a means of adding the include path of the library for building future projects.