Error in a C++ function

Hi guys,
I'm new in this awesome language and I recently tried to make a simple function which could count how many elements are there in a given array.

#include <iostream> //std::cout std::cin
using namespace std;
size_t eleArray(unsigned short v[])
{
size_t numele = 0;
for (short ele : v) numele ++; //<----- I GET SOME ERRORS ON THIS LINE
return numele;
}
int main() {
const short ARRAY = 5;
unsigned short v[ARRAY] { 1,2,3,4,5 };
short n = eleArray(v);
if (ARRAY == n) cout << "ok";
getchar();
return 0;
}

For some reason my compiler (I'm using Visual Studio 2019) returns some errors, but I still cannot fix them.

Here a list of the errors (they are all referring to the same line):

Error (active) E2261 6 this range-based 'for' statement requires a suitable "begin" function and none was found

Error C2672 6 'begin': no matching overloaded function found

Error C2863 6 Failed to specialize function template 'unknown-type std::begin(_Container &)'

Error C2784 6 'const _Elem *std::begin(std::initializer_list<_Elem>) noexcept': could not deduce template argument for 'std::initializer_list<_Elem>' from 'unsigned short []'

Error C2672 6 'end': no matching overloaded function found

Error C2863 6 Failed to specialize function template 'unknown-type std::end(_Container &)'

Error C2784 6 'const _Elem *std::end(std::initializer_list<_Elem>) noexcept': could not deduce template argument for 'std::initializer_list<_Elem>' from 'unsigned short []'

Error C3536 6 '<begin>$L0': cannot be used before it is initialized

Error C3536 6 '<end>$L0': cannot be used before it is initialized

Error C2100 6 illegal indirection
An array degrades into a pointer when you pass it to a function.
In other words, the size of the array isn't known.
The easiest way to fix this is to pass the number of elements of the array into the function as second parameter. You won't be able to use a for-each loop.
Last edited on