Templates and concepts

closed account (26q2b7Xj)
I am reading through a C++ book and one of the exercises that builds on top of the previous ones says the following: " Modify mode to accept an Integer concept. Verify that mode fails to instantiate with floating types like double".
Now, I am still new with concepts and it seems that VS won't recognize the concept keyword. In the meantime, I stuck with using static_assert. Can anyone show how I can do it with concepts?

#include <iostream>
#include <algorithm>
#include <type_traits>
#include <stdexcept>

template <typename T>
int mode(const T* values, std::size_t length)
{
	static_assert(std::is_integral<T>(), "Type must be an integer.");

if (length <= 0)
		return 0;

if (!values)
		throw std::invalid_argument{ "Invalid argument passed." };

T number{ values[0] };
	T mode{ number };
	int count{ 1 };
	int count_mode{ 1 };

for (std::size_t i{ 1 }; i < length; ++i)
	{
		if (values[i] == number)
			++count;
		else
		{
			if (count > count_mode)
			{
				count_mode = count;
				mode = number;
			}

count = 1;
			number = values[i];
		}
	}

return mode;
}

int main()
{
    int values[]{ 2, 1, 1, 5, 7, 1, 2, 3, 3, 1};
	std::size_t length{ std::size(values) };

std::sort(std::begin(values), std::end(values));

try
	{
		auto result{ mode(values, length) };

// If exception is thrown, this won't execute.
		std::cout << "mode: " << result << '\n';
	}
	catch (const std::invalid_argument& e)
	{
		std::cerr << "Standard exception: " << e.what() << '\n';
	}
	catch (...)
	{
		std::cerr << "Unknown Exception caught.\n";
	}
}
What version of Visual Studio, and how are you compiling?

https://devblogs.microsoft.com/cppblog/c20-concepts-are-here-in-visual-studio-2019-version-16-3/
C++20 (which is what has concepts) is feature complete, but I don't think it's technically released yet as the official standard, so you probably have to set the compiler flag /std:c++latest .