is it a bad idea to start with c++

Pages: 12
i started learning c++ last night and it said it was the hardest so i was wondering if i should start off on learning c++ with no programming experience or should learn other, simpler forms of c first. (my ambition is to program games)
Last edited on
jumbob1141 wrote:
i started learning c++ last night and it said it was the hardest

Did C++ tell you this or did someone on the forum? C++ is a very powerful language, but for a beginner I would not recommend it. While your ultimate goal to make games naturally would lead you to learn C++, it is even more important to learn some fundamentals of computer science while learning programming, not that you can't do so with C++... I recommend Python as a first language, but if you are ready for the challenge by all means jump into C++ :)
I wish c++ would talk to me : (..
C++ is the first programming language that I recently started learning on UNIX (I have no programming experience) and so far, I haven't found it too difficult to grasp the concepts.
Last edited on
You may find it easy, who knows. I certainly did, but as you progress in Object Oriented Programming, Pointers, Classes, templates, etc... it can be a bit confusing for a new programmer.
I started with C++. It's not as hard as it's made out to be as long as you don't mind using code you don't fully understand. Actually understanding the code takes a long time, but being able to write it isn't that hard.

Starting with C won't help you learn C++. If anything it will only make it harder to learn C++ because you'll have to "unlearn" a lot of things C will teach you.

If you want to make games, then just do it. I recommend getting a game lib like SFML. Installing it can be tricky, but once it's working it will make creating games pretty simple.

http://www.sfml-dev.org/ <-- get SFML