is there native c++ code (i. e. no includes)?

hi guys.

I have some experience in a scripting language called autohotkey, and in there you type and everything works.

for example:

msgbox, Testing with a small message

would do what you expect, it brings up a message box with that text and an 'Ok' button.

In c++ I would have to include window.h in order to access the MessageBox() function.

What i have noticed in languages like c++ / java and so on is that often you have to include libraries for things to work, (e.g. iostream for cout).

But that creates the question, are there native c++ functions / objects / commands available for me even when i dont include any standard library?

I know you can create variables, use things like if/else, loops, but are there any functions like for printing on the screen (console programs) and working with strings that do not need being included?

I ask that silly question because including libraries brings the problem that you have to know where the functions you need are located, even though it helps making your program smaller since if you dont need to work with x set of functions then you just dont include that file.
Last edited on
not sure if you are aware, but <iostream> is not for cout. std is. Such as using std::cout so you do not have to say std::cout << .... As far as your direct question I am not sure. I would imagine there are something close to what your are referring to, but the C++ libraries that are built in is not working for you? just curious.
Without libraries, you can in-line assembly code, calling system interrupts. However, this is very hard, system specific, and easy to mess up. Including the libraries is necessary, and this is a good thing, because you can include only the libraries you use, and save space.
encoded wrote:
not sure if you are aware, but <iostream> is not for cout. std is.

If you do not do #include <iostream>