New to C++ - Creating functions

Let me just start this off by saying that I am pretty new to c++/ game development. I decided to learn C++ to get an idea of what game development is about to see if I wanted to persue a career in games.

I have a book that I am reading in order to learn C++. So far I haven't had any problems picking up on it but I cannot seem to get the hang of creating functions (with or without arguments)

First of all: What is a function?
What is the purpose of a function?

Also, In this book I noticed that the functions all have different names
ex: double sumSquareSequence(void)
but they never explain how these are named. Are they the same as declaring variables where you can name them whatever you want?

I'm pretty confused on this and any advise would be really appreciated.
Functions make using repeated blocks of code easier. Think of it as a 'shorthand' method of 'inserting' code. For instance:

double convertToFahrenheit(double c)
{
  double result;
  result = (c * 1.8) + 32.0;

return result;
}

Now, I realize that this is a very trivial example, but it makes the point. Anywhere you need to use code to convert a Celsius temperature to Fahrenheit, you can substitute this function in its place:

double f = convertToFahrenheit(26.0);

Most of the time (but not always) a function will contain many lines of code that would take a lot of work to type out over and over again. If you substitute a function in its place, you can complete your task much faster with fewer mistakes. And yes, you can name them whatever you want (as long as you don't name your function the same as a reserved word).
Last edited on
Cplusplus.com has a great C++ tutorial in the Documentation section. You can read it online or download it as a pdf.

double sumSquareSequence(void)

C++ is a strongly typed language, meaning it needs to know what type of object it is dealing with (in order to compile the most efficient program possible).

double