Pages: 12
hello, i am a newbie who doesn't have any programming experience.
i heard that python is great to start with, but i prefer to begin with c++ because it's known as the best for game programming.

1) is it okay to learn c++ for a newbie?
2) is c++ really the best for game programming?
3) which software should i use to program in c++? (i am a mac user.)
Last edited on
yes to 1 and 2 I use windows so not sure about 3. as for one its ok to learn c++ but you might have a better time learning something simpler first. I'd say more but gotta go eat.
1. I learned c++ as a programming newbie
2. This is greatly a matter of opinion, but it is one of the best.
3. I just googled and found this forum post:
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/675/

I haven't looked at Python yet, but I do hear it is great for beginners.
I think "game development" is more than programming or c++.But c++ is in common usage in game programming.I've coded simple games such as mine sweeper [in C] but that's all.If you plan to stay at amateur level like me,use a language that is easy to learn.
XCode provided by Apple is my favorite among development software on Mac;)
1) Yes. It's true that there are some counterintuitive things in C++, but that's pretty much true for all languages I know.
2) There is no such thing as "the best" in programming. It all depends on the situation, like how fast the program has to be (nowadays for most programs speed doesn't matter too much anymore), how the game's rules are etc etc. What I can tell you though is that C++ is an extremely widespread language, so if you go for C++ you'll have it easy to find tutorials or books for game programming. Finding something that is mac compatible will be more of a problem.