Passing arguments to functions using pointers and reference

Hello, cpp forum members and community. I am a new member and this will be my first post, of many, hopefully (and not all just about asking for advice, like this one).

Well to start with stating my problem: I am reading a book on C++, i am a beginner to the language and the world of programming entirely, but have been studying the book for about two months. So i feel i have a basic understanding of the syntax and how to use simple functions to make very basic programs.

One example in the book's chapter on functions and passing arguments to functions had only covered passing arguments by reference as opposed to passing by value and this is what i had been doing for just about every exercise that followed.

Example:
int someFn(int &variable)
{
  variable += 1;
  return variable;
}
int main()
{
  int variable = 0;
  someFn(variable);
  /* variable is now = 1 */
}

Basic things like that. I believe I understand the concept of using the reference pointer in this situation. Today I looked in the chapter regarding classes and the author decides to go back into passing variables from main into functions using pointers and then states:
"Passing by reference is just another way of passing the address of the object.
C++ keeps track of the address of a reference, whereas you manipulate the
address in a pointer."

Here is the example code (not word for word, assuming that the book's source code is copyright):
int someFn(int* variable)
{
  *variable = 10;
}
int main()
{
  int variable = 1;
  someFn(&variable);
  /* 'Variable' is now = 10 */
}