Some general questions

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new in programming and have learned the basics of C++ in the past few weeks. Now i have a few general questions:

What is the best way to clear the screen? I'm using system("cls"), but i have hearded it's best to avoid using system. So is there another way?
And is there a way to clear a part of the screen, not everyting?

Is there a way to pause the program until the user hit enter? In this case i dont only want to avoid a system command for some abstract reason: system ("pause") cause ugly output on the screen, and i dont want that.

How do you build a library? I have downloaded the sourcecode of zlib (www.zlip.net) because i wanted to install PNGwriter and that requires zlib. However, i dont know how to 'build' the program. I read someting using nmake in command promt on the makefile.msc, but cp dont recognize nmake.
Last edited on
What is the best way to clear the screen? I'm using system("cls"), but i have hearded it's best to avoid using system. So is there another way?
And is there a way to clear a part of the screen, not everyting?

It doesn't matter. You'll eventually stop writing console apps for all but the most basic of input/output programs. So don't read too much into it. Understand the fundamentals of the language more.

Is there a way to pause the program until the user hit enter? In this case i dont only want to avoid a system command for some abstract reason: system ("pause") cause ugly output on the screen, and i dont want that.

char a
cin >> a;

How do you build a library? I have downloaded the sourcecode of zlib (www.zlip.net) because i wanted to install PNGwriter and that requires zlib. However, i dont know how to 'build' the program. I read someting using nmake in command promt on the makefile.msc, but cp dont recognize nmake.

Read the Install and ReadMe files for that libary. Each one is different. Most however require a Linux style command line so you might wanna download Cygwin or MSYS.