Finding the GCD in C++ Program

Can someone write a quick program for me. The purpose of the program is to find the GCD(Greatest Common Denominator) of two integers that are inputed. All common denominators have to be displayed. Then at the end of the output, the greatest will be displayed. It will look something like this:

Numbers inputed:

20, 16

Common Denominators: 1,2,4
Greatest Common Denominator: 4
Read the rules... We will not code things for you, and this is 100% likely to be a homework assignment. We aren't just a forum that spits out your homework so you can get a good grade, this is a helping website. At least ATTEMPT to do your own work then we might consider helping you.
Well im sorry. Im new to this. Ill write what i can with what ive learned so far. I cant experiment with the program because i dont have the C++ program here at home. It is a school where i have Computer Science as a class.
Last edited on
Here's an idea of how you can do it :). Find the results generated by dividing the numerical input by a loop of values that decrement from the value until half of the numerical input. Make another loop that decrements a single unit from each of these results, if the result of the new loop ever turns up a value of 0, then you have yourself a denominator. Store the reults that return true to being a denomiator for all inputted numbers. Check the new results from both inputs against eachother to find the common denominators, find the highest common denominator.
What OS/what program do you use at school/home?
Microsoft Vision C++
well ive started out basic

#include<iostream.h>
#include<iomanip.h>
#include<math.h>
int main()

{

int x=0;
int y=0;

cout<<"Please enter two integers"<<endl;
cin>>x;
cin>>y;

if ((x<0)||(y<0))
{
cout<<"Cannot use Negative Integers"<<endl;
cout<<"Please enter positive integers"<<endl;
cin>>x;
cin>>y;

for(y=x;y<=x;--y)
if(x%y=0)
cout<<y<<endl;

should it look sumthing like that?

Last edited on
No.