Adding Multi-Threading Inside Function

I'm new to multithreading, so I have a bunch of questions.

1. Is there a standard C++ way of doing multithreading, or is there only MFC for Windows? I'd like to write just one code that supports all platforms.

I have a code somewhat like this...
for ( int i = 0; i < a.length; i++ )
{
         //create thread
	for ( int j = 0; j < b.length; j++ )
	{
		//do stuff;
	}
         //destroy thread
}

It is reading through a file format and storing the data into lists. What I want is the main thread reads until it finds a block []. Then it creates a thead to process data up to the next block. While that is processing, I want the main thread to skip to the next block, and then create a new thread and just repeat the process.

2. How would I go about doing this?
I would probably have to lock the list while adding to it.

I'd like to add multithreading because it takes a while for each one to process the data.
If anyone knows a good place to start or read, please post a link.
There is nothing in std:: that supports cross-platform multi-threading, but you can use boost which is really easy to setup.

You would set up this:
#include <boost/thread.hpp>

void MyFunction( MyType& MyObject);

Then to run your function in a thread and pass the object into it you would simply do this:
boost::thread MyFunction(boost::ref(TheObject));

You're passing by reference because you need an output. If you didn't need the output, you wouldn't need boost::ref
Last edited on
I read that using the OS specific multithread libraries are faster and give greater functionality, so I am going to use them instead. I found some good references, so if I get stuck I'll let you know.
If you want to make your code not OS-specific with OS specific libraries, you'll just have to do things twice.

Use
#if defined(_WIN32) || defined(__WIN32__)
// Windows-specific threading code
#elif defined(linux) || defined(__linux)
// Linux-specific threading code