Can't read and write the same file?

Hi, I'm trying to make a save game system for my text adventures. I have no experience reading and writing files, so I wrote a test program to teach myself:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cstdlib>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	ofstream fout("save.txt");
	ifstream fin("save.txt");
	int x;
	fin >> x;
	fout << x + 1 << endl;

return 0;
}

When I run the program, save.txt contains the number 3 and a newline. So the program should read in a 3, then change the contents of save.txt to 4. But instead it prints the leftover memory that was dumped into x when it was declared (2130567169). How do I properly read in from and write to the same file?
why are you trying to take info from a file and replace it?
Thanks for the link! But how do I overwrite the file with the output? I want to read in, then completely overwrite. Will truncating do that?

EDIT: I tried truncating, but it wiped the file before I could read its contents. To clarify, I need to open it, read its contents, THEN wipe it, then write to it.

EDIT: It all works perfectly now. Thanks for your help! This opens up so many new opportunities for me. I'm so excited!

@ui uiho: I plan to read in the save data, allowing the player to load their save game. Then I plan to overwrite the save file with their new save data when they're done playing.
Last edited on
ok, i also noticed you forgot to close the files in the first program. you need to do
filename.close();
or the file will be left open in the ram. this is not a great thing. remember when people tell you to always close files before closing them? this is the same kind of thing but instead of just losing info you are also losing space in your ram. the ram resets itself when you restart your computer so you do not actually have any damage. but if you are running like a gigabit worth of info in files and forget to close them you will almost always require a computer restart after the program runs.