srand initialization

My main question is at the very bottom. The information here is supporting info.

I am a fairly experienced programmer and have fairly good understanding of good and bad code but a friend freaked out at me when I had a dual initialization of srand in some code I sent him and I'm struggling to understand why. At the beginning of my main I had the following line which i use fairly regularly:

srand((unsigned int)time(NULL));rand();rand();srand((unsigned int)rand());

I understand that this is bad from the fact that it wastes 2 rand() statements but I commonly use it to get better spread in my programs rand for testing, specifically when I need to run the program shortly after a previous run. I make 1 seed with the time and then use two rands (the first one is linear with time and the second one is still a fairly small increase), finally reinitializing srand with a somewhat random seed. The only time I could ever see this causing issues is if my program was run many, many times by another program, although that causes issues with most programs.

Main question: He said that it's bad because you are never supposed to prep rand's seed (srand) more than once, can someone explain this to me?
Last edited on
> srand((unsigned int)time(NULL));rand();rand();srand((unsigned int)rand());

doesn't give you any extra randomness over just srand((unsigned int)time(NULL));. In either case, the next random number that is generated is deterministically arrived at based on the initial seed value.

Prefer using the C++ random number generation facilities provided in the header <random>. The drop in replacement for std::srand()/std::rand() is the mersenne twister std::mt19937 - it is reasonably fast and has measurably better quality.
#include <random>
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    std::mt19937 twister( std::time(0) ) ;
    for( int i=0 ; i<10 ; ++i ) std::cout << twister() << '\n' ;
}