Beginner projects

Hi my friends!

I have been coding in a scripting language called Autohotkey for a while now, and the way i self taught that language was that i thought of a program that i wanted to have and started reading on the manual asking myself "how do i do this...? ok, ok... and how do i achieve that?" and it has turned out to have helped me greatly!

Now i want to learn C++ and i am trying to come up with an idea of a program not too easy to build but not extremely hard so that i can get the hang of it.

So i have a quick question for you:
What was your first beginner project? please share your experiences on it too if you like.

I think it might be an interesting thread and it can even turn out to be a pool of ideas for beginners like me looking for a project we could start on. :)

As a side question:
Are there any sites dedicated to share ideas of potential programming projects?
I am not aware of any.

Well sorry for the long post, hope you made it and I am eager to hear about your experiences!

to mods: I was not sure if i should post this in general forum but it is targeted to beginners so i ended up dumping it here

Most fun beginner projects are usually games. Here, you don't need to struggle with the problem but with the code alone. You could go for some self-evolving project, e.g:

Start with some small dice rolling game, roulette or something similar. Plain text I/O for now. Maybe using C-Style programming (skip the classes)
Add some opponent (AI)
Add some Highscore/Savegame options
Rewrite the whole thing using C++ (now you want a player class and you don't care how many folks participate)
Add simple graphics (SDL for example and thereby learn how to interact with libraries other than standard cpp)

Just a thought...if you're not interested in graphics you might look into other stuff thereafter...

closed account (o3hC5Di1)
Hi there,

If you're looking for inspiration you can always have a look at these links: