Advice on books

I'm new at programming. I just started to learn C++ using CodeBlocks. I was wondering what C++ books for beginners you guys would recommend?
Last edited on
closed account (iG3b7k9E)
It depends what level of c++ you are right now. You see I'm 13 and I wanted to start easy, simple, and with easy vocabulary, so I used the book Beginning Programing for Dummies to get started. I know it says dummies in the title but I'm not dumb and I'm sure you are not ether, but it is a good book for a reference and to get started. After you learn enough from the book to write small programs you can go to YouTube and watch tutorials on how to do some things you're stuck on. That is what I did and now I write programs including several forms and I made my own Web Browser. If are already ahead of that starter level, you should try collage books.

I hope this will help.
Well. There are a lot of good books about c++, each has different style! I'll suggest you what I find Interesting:
1) C++ Without Fear (Second Edition) by Brian Overland
2) Programming Principles and Practice Using C++ by   Bjarne Stroustrup
3) C++ For Dummies (5th Edition) by Stephen Randy Davis

then continue with:
4) Professional C++ (Seceond Edition) by Marc Gregoire,...
The number 4 is for Professional C++ and Best book on C++ (I think)

If you interested in C, Then best book is:
Beginning C: From Novice to Professional (Fourth Edition) by Ivor Horton

Last edited on
Thanks for the answers, I'm going to get Programming Principles and Practice by Bjarne Stroustrup. Seemed like the best one to get after reading reviews.
Stroustrup was the founder of C++ so he knows best. I read a few of his books, but never PPP, but some of them are hard to focus on. They're great books, don't get me wrong, but I'd suggest the C++ for dummies if you know nothing, and then work into one of Stroustup's books from there.