Large file and float arrays - Stack overflow problem

Hi folks,

I am quite new in C++.

I need to read a large file (a 5 column float array with ~500,000
lines) and further use this array along my code in order to do some
arithmetic operations. Because the array is too large, I cannot even read my file due to stack overflow of memory. Could anyone help me to solve this
problem, please?

This is what I was doing:
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>
#include <vector>
#include <stdlib.h>

using namespace std;

/*Called Functions*/
float getFileNLines();

/************************************************************/
int main()
{

int i, j;

/*Opening files and defining columns**********************/
  int n, ncol;
  n=getFileNLines();
  ncol=5;

ifstream file ("myfile");
  double matrix[n][ncol];

if(file.is_open()){
    for(i=0; i<n; i++){
      for (j=0; j<ncol; j++){	
	file >> matrix[i][j];
      }
    }
  }
  else
    cout << "Unable to open the  myfile! \n";

return 0;
}

/*************************************************************
Called functions
************************************************************/

float getFileNLines()
{

ifstream file ("myfile");
   string line;
   vector<string> lines;
   while( getline( file, line ) ) lines.push_back( line );
   float num;
   num=lines.size();

return num;
}

Last edited on
I think the problem is because you're using a vector to store all those strings when really all you need to do is create a counter.

int counter;
for (counter = 0; !file.eof(); counter++)
	getline(file, line);
Last edited on
The problem is that you're not using vector.
This line is not even valid C++, as array dimensions must be compile-time constants:
double matrix[n][ncol];
If you have that much data and store it in an array or vector, even if your program works, it will take forever to do anything because those data structures are too simple for what you need.