finding string from a text file

Hi,
I currently have a program that is able to write a string of characters(serial number) into a txt file.
The program will then read from the file and create another text file for printing.
I am trying to edit my program for tracking purpose, so there will be no chances of double printing. The ideal way will be creating a database and searching for it. However, it is too complex for me.
I am thinking of just using and searching through the text file for duplicates. ie once a serial number has been saved into a text file, any duplicate found will be detected and the program will prompt.
I need some help/example for searching through the text file for the serial number and prompt if it is duplicate.
Some part of my program is as follows. It is quite a lengthy code and it should be shorter but I am a C++ beginner.

if ( strncmp (type_serial,"0",1) == 0 )// product is 1188 AC
					{	cout<<"Product is 1188AC.\n\n";
						memmove(type_serial, type_serial+5, strlen(type_serial)); //Remove next 5 numbers(total 8), get last number
					if ( strncmp (type_serial,"4",1) == 0 )// product is produced at FAT
						{	//cout<<"Production location is correct\n";
							database_numbers_textfile= fopen("1188AC Database Numbers.TXT","a");
							fprintf(database_numbers_textfile, "%s\n",scan_dhr);
							fclose(database_numbers_textfile);
							print_file_read= fopen("Scanned Numbers.TXT","r");
							if (print_file_read == NULL)	{	cout<<"Error! Cannot open Scanned Numbers.TXT";	return 0;	}
							print_file_write= fopen("1188AC.TXT","w");
							if (print_file_write == NULL)	{	cout<<"Error! Cannot open 1188AC.TXT";	return 0;	}
								do{	bartender_commander=fgetc(print_file_read);
									if (bartender_commander!=EOF)
										{	fputc(bartender_commander, print_file_write);	}
								}while (bartender_commander !=EOF);
							fclose(print_file_read);
							fclose(print_file_write);
							cout<<"Printing...\n\n";