Storing GetCh using a pointer

I'm just learning how to use GetCh(). I have the GetCh() call inside a do...while loop and I think I'm having a problem where sometimes the program is not waiting for the user to press a key, instead it is using the same key that was pressed the last time GetCh() was called and continuing on until GetCh() is called again in the next time through the loop.

My actual code is quite long, so I don't want to bore you guys with it, but this is an approximation of what I have:

#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>

using std::cout;

//Function to get keyboard input
CHAR GetCh (VOID)
{
  HANDLE hStdin = GetStdHandle (STD_INPUT_HANDLE);
  INPUT_RECORD irInputRecord;
  DWORD dwEventsRead;
  CHAR cChar;

while(ReadConsoleInputA (hStdin, &irInputRecord, 1, &dwEventsRead)) /* Read key press */
    if (irInputRecord.EventType == KEY_EVENT
	&&irInputRecord.Event.KeyEvent.wVirtualKeyCode != VK_SHIFT
	&&irInputRecord.Event.KeyEvent.wVirtualKeyCode != VK_MENU
	&&irInputRecord.Event.KeyEvent.wVirtualKeyCode != VK_CONTROL)
    {
      cChar = irInputRecord.Event.KeyEvent.uChar.AsciiChar;
	ReadConsoleInputA (hStdin, &irInputRecord , 1, &dwEventsRead); /* Read key release */
	return cChar;
    }
  return EOF;
}

int main()
}
	CHAR KeyPress;
	cout << "To exit, press 'q'\n";
	do
	{	
		cout << "Press a key: ";
		KeyPress = GetCh();
		cout << "\nYou pressed " << KeyPress << "\n";
	}while(KeyPress != 'q')

return 0;
}

So, something I was thinking of doing to solve the problem, was to create KeyPress as a pointer to CHAR, which would change int main() to:
}
	CHAR* KeyPress(nullptr);
	cout << "To exit, press 'q'\n";
	do
	{
		KeyPress = nullptr;
		KeyPress = new CHAR;
		cout << "Press a key: ";
		*KeyPress = GetCh();
		cout << "\nYou pressed " << *KeyPress << "\n";
	}while(*KeyPress != 'q')

delete KeyPress;
	return 0;
}