question re virtual destructors

I am an experienced C programmer, who is just learning C++. I have a base class CVListView (which is a wrapper around the Windows virtual listview control), and a derived class CTerminal, which basically adds some console-type concepts to the CVListView, such as console rows/columns, current cursor position, etc. The base class can be instantiated on its own, or via the derived class. I have destructors in both classes, though the destructor in the derived class doesn't actually do anything, in this example.

All was fine until I ran the code through PcLint, which warned me that there was no "virtual destructor" in the base class. I did some reading on virtual destructors, then added "virtual" to the base-class destructor, PcLint was happy, and the program still seems to run properly.

However, I really don't understand what the purpose of this was, and am hoping someone can explain it to me more clearly. The one commented example that I found, was explaining something about how 'virtual' was needed if you used a pointer to the base class to access a derived class:

CTerminal *T = new CTerminal() ;
CVListView *v = T ;

Then, if I call:
delete v ;
then which destructor is called depends on whether the base-class destructor is virtual or not.

There are several things I don't understand here... first of all, why would I ever do this?? If I want the base class, I'll instantiate CVListView. If I want the derived class, I'll instantiate CTerminal. I don't see any reason that I would *ever* use the base-class pointer to point to the derived class... ???

Could someone try to explain this to me, in a way that a 25-year C programmer could understand?? I would be *very* grateful !!

To store "heterogeneous" objects in a container (such as an array), is one reason. To use the built-in runtime polymorphism is another. To support extensibility is yet another.