Alternative to Make?

Does there exist an alternative to GNU Make that can handle spaces in target names and file names?

In this day and age, it doesn't seem like there's any excuse for what is a rather important tool to lack support for symbols as commonplace as blank spaces.
Thanks for the prompt reply. I came across that earlier when I was looking for a solution; unfortunately, the general conclusion seems to be that there's no perfect solution as far as using GNU Make is concerned. The tricks he presented should function as a workaround while my makefiles are still basic, but I'll likely run into trouble when they become more complex. As such, I was hoping I could start familiarizing myself with a better tool now while I'm still learning.

I did see the suggestion to use bmake in the comments below it, but wasn't able to find a great deal about it. As a beginner, I'm hesitant to try utilities that aren't widely vetted and/or discussed since I don't yet feel I have the experience to evaluate them on my own.
Last edited on
The un-solution is to simply not use spaces in file names.

That is at least easier than learning new syntaxes for new utilities, which have only to do with bookkeeping, and nothing to do with your actual code.
I don't know anything about Make, but can't use put them in double or single quotes? or use the escape character on it e.g usr/home/bad\ human\ memory\ of\ linux\ file\ system/.conkyrc

bad\ human\ memory\ of\ linux\ file\ system is the name of a single directory
I can't for the life of me see why anyone would want to put spaces in their source code file names?

As CatFish2 says:

The un-solution is to simply not use spaces in file names.

This is about on par with the use of un-initialised variables, I think.