Factorial.

Hi all,

I'm studying C++ and I wrote down a simple code to evaluate the factorial of a number using the recursivity property of functions.
I can't understand why it works fine for number smaller than 65 and for bigger ones it returns always 0.

the code is:
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

long factorial (long a)
{
	if (a>1)
	{
		return (a=a*factorial(a-1));
	}
	else
	{
		return (1);
	 }

}

int main ()
 {
	 long num;
	 cout << "Digita il numero di cui vuoi calcolare il fattoriale: ";

cin >> num;

cout << num << "! = " << factorial (num) << "\n";

return 0;
 }
Do you mean passing a number greater than 65? Cause those are some massive numbers, you shouldn't even really get to 20
Yes, I mean passing...
What should I do if I would need to evaluated the factorial of a big number?
Well, 65! is a 91 digit number according to wolframalpha. I think there's a library out there called bignum that handles numbers like this.
Isn't it much more efficient to write a factorial program with a loop, instead of recursively. Like, I can imagine that for extremely large numbers, the program will begin to work very slowly.
Yes, you are absolutely right noysoffer, I wrote it as exercise to use the recursivity property. It is not supposed to be optimized.

ResidentBiscuit, thanks, I'll look for this library.
@OP(original poster):
I can't understand why it works fine for number smaller than 65 and for bigger ones it returns always 0.

If that's what you say, then use long double instead of long int(long)
Last edited on
Here
http://cpp.forum24.ru/?1-3-0-00000049-000-0-0-1344549578

is some interesting methods of calculating the factorial. And here

http://cpp.forum24.ru/?1-3-0-00000047-000-0-0-1344354047

are ranges of values of the factorial for some fundamental types.

Though the text is written in Russian I think you can translate it with the google.
If that's what you say, then use long double instead of long int(long)