Prime Factorization in C++ - Problem with Factors that are Square Roots

Greetings

This is my first time posting in any programming forum, so I hope I can pose my problem to you correctly.

This is my 6th week in my first programming class, having never programmed before in my life. In order to catch up, I've been trying to write out practice problems that I believe I can solve (cash register machine and the like). This particular problem is finding whether an input number is prime, and if it is not, find the factors of the number and the number of factors.

This is not a homework assignment, I assure you, but just a way of testing my abilities.

We just covered how to do loops, so we do not know how to do void functions, classes, or anything of the sort. The anstolower function was created by my professor and I understand the concept but could not duplicate it without looking at it.

We are using Visual Studio 2010 in class on a double booted 64-bit Windows system on a MacBook Pro.

My Question:

Line 75 is the problem area. The if (test == halfNum) section is never used. When inputting 100, when the loop gets to test=10, it displays "10 and 10 are factors of 100", then increasing the counted number of factors by 2 rather than 1. Since this problem arose, the downstream information display area (line 112) is also messed up.

The code compiles and works perfectly (assuming a valid positive integer is input) for all numbers except for values that are perfect squares. Everything in commented and the two problem areas are set apart by upper cased comments on to the left hand side.

Any suggestions on formatting, ways of commenting on the code, or general tips are also appreciated.

Thank you for any help!

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <string>
#include <cmath>

using namespace std;

string anstolower(string s)
{
	string result = "";
	for(int i = 0; i < s.length(); i++)
	{
		result += tolower(s[i]);
	}
	return result;
}

int main()
{