Where to now?

Hi,

I'm currently a university student learning C++ among other things. I'm getting to the stage where I believe I'm sufficiently competent to start working on some projects to further my knowledge. In particular, I'd like to make a few basic GUI programs for Windows and/or linux-like operating systems, and would like to know of some decent guides to teach myself as I go along. Would anyone know of an appropriate guide?

In particular, I was thinking that writing a small calculator program would be a good starting project. Any advice on undertaking such a task would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
Look up wxWidgits. Its a cross-platform GUI library.
I started GUIs by trying out the SFML library. However it was so high-level and so difficult to link that I didn't learn a lot and had to do a bunch of extra work for what I did learn.

My next attempt at GUIs was pure Win32. I wanted to learn the absolute basics so that I knew what the higher level libraries were doing. This is the tutorial I used which was excellent. It's in C by the way.
http://www.winprog.org/tutorial/

Eventually I built a C++ wrapper for the pure Win32 to make my life much easier. I built two applications with this wrapper but came across problems with the implementation. I could make applications, but things like tabbing from edit-box to edit-box weren't working properly.

Next I got into Qt widget programming. This was a huge breakthrough for me because I could actually get stuff to look the way I imagined. I spent more time creating and less time coding. All of the extras in this library make things so easy to work with (ex QTimer helps build non-event triggered stuff). I've managed to make some pretty nice and complicated things with Qt that would have taken me months to do in Win32.