[WinSock] Connect to IP?

I've been trying to do this app today, but without much luck, in this app you can basically host or connect to someone else (p2p chat) but unfortunatelly I can connect to any IP I want, and it don't even have to be an IP, I can just write random things to IP Address edit box and it will connect me... (I won't get any error or anything, app will simply continue) O_o i'm pretty new to winsock, can someone help me? hosting works fine I guess

http://pastebin.com/tdVyCpX8
Last edited on
someone?
What is your problem?

I'd really suggest to use an up to date GUI framework like wxWidget or QT for things like that
(I like to use plain win32 API)

I have no idea how to use WSAAsyncGetHostByAddr or however is that function called, I just want to connect to the IP provided when connecting, I added message box to everything and well error is in WSAGETASYNCERROR(lParam) in this part of the code:

if(idTask == (HWND)wParam)
			{
				hostent *host = (struct hostent *) buf;
				sockaddr *addr = NULL;
				sockaddr_in addr_ip4;
				size_t addrLen = 0;
				if(WSAGETASYNCERROR(lParam) != 0)
				{
					MessageBox(hWnd, "WSAGETASYNCERROR Error!", NULL, MB_ICONERROR | MB_OK);
					return 0;
				}
				/*addr_ip4.sin_family = host->h_addrtype;
				addr_ip4.sin_port = htons(port);
				memcpy(&(addr_ip4.sin_addr), host->h_addr_list[0], host->h_length);
				addr = (struct sockaddr *)&addr_ip4;
				addrLen = sizeof(addr_ip4);*/
				addr_ip4.sin_family = AF_INET;
				addr_ip4.sin_addr.S_un.S_addr = inet_addr(ip_addr);
				if ((sock = socket(host->h_addrtype, SOCK_STREAM, IPPROTO_TCP)) == INVALID_SOCKET){
					MessageBox(hWnd, "Can't create socket!", NULL, MB_ICONERROR | MB_OK);
					return 0;
				}
				if (connect(sock, addr, addrLen) == SOCKET_ERROR){
					MessageBox(hWnd, "Can't connect to the server!", NULL, MB_ICONERROR | MB_OK);
					return 0;
				}
				if (WSAAsyncSelect(sock, MainhWnd, WM_SOCKET, FD_READ) == SOCKET_ERROR){